Topic: Html4 runtime problems

Hi,
I'm new to plupload so I may be doing something wrong, but I can't get the html4 runtime to work. Under Internet Explorer, I select a file to upload and start the uploader. However, then I see a dialog "Do you want to open or save this file" with upload.php as the selected file. So it appears to be trying to download the results of the post to upload.php rather than treat it as an AJAX response.

Also, under FireFox HTML4 appears to work but I don't get an uploaded file.

Any thoughts what I am doing wrong, or is this a bug?

Re: Html4 runtime problems

Thanks. I'm not sure what you mean by "integration with an application", but actually I think it is the second one. If I put some debug code in my  upload.php file, I can see the content type is multipart, but the $_FILES array is empty when using Internet Explorer 8 & html4.

Has anybody actually got this setup working?

3 (edited by johnvb 2010-05-21 20:29:17)

Still no luck on this. I've just downloaded the latest version, 1.2.2.1, which claims to have some fixes in this area, but it makes no difference. In fact now even the example page http://www.plupload.com/example_all_runtimes.php does not work for HTML4 on IE8. When you select a file it is fine, but then when you press upload IE opens a download box as it is trying to open the JSON response from the upload.php script rather than use it as a JSON response properly.

On my own code, I get the same problem, but only after implementing another bugfix I found. In the HTML4 runtime, on line 213, it says:

// Append to form
container.appendChild(inputContainer);

But this means the inputContainer is appended to the container, not the form that is going to be submitted. So it gets stuck in the wrong place in the DOM and is not included in the POST. So, I found that if I replace container with form it works, or at least now it sends the correct POST data:

// Append to form
form.appendChild(inputContainer);